Clearpop
New York City

New York event permits for brand activations

What typically applies to sampling, pop-ups, street teams, festival booths, tour stops and amplified sound in New York. City of New York.

Most recent source check: Oct 16, 2026. Each requirement below shows its own status and source link.

Not legal advice. Confirm with the City of New York. Requirements, fees and lead times change and vary by location and by the exact activity. Always confirm with the issuing agency before you rely on anything here.
Get the checklist for your exact event. Tell us what, where and when and we filter this list and compute filing dates.
Check my event

right of-way

Street Event Permit (promotional/commercial activity on street, sidewalk or curb lane)

right of-wayVerified Oct 16, 2026
Street Activity Permit Office (SAPO), Mayor's Office of Citywide Event Coordination and Management (CECM)
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Per location, per day: Small $3,100; Medium $11,000; Large $25,000; Extra Large $66,000. Plus $25 non-refundable online processing fee.

Small 14 days before event; Medium 30; Large 45; Extra Large up to 60 depending on plaza levels. FAQ: "Street Events: 14 to 45 days before, depending on event size". Permits issued "approximately two weeks prior to the event date, except for Street Events".

Apply online through the SAPO/CECM permit portal; pay $25 processing fee by card at submission; agencies and community board review; invoiced fee due before issuance.

Fee_cents is the Small tier only; tier depends on event size/impact. Tables, banners, tents, red carpets, ropes/stanchions, vehicle displays on street/sidewalk all need this permit. Insurance: min $1M required for commercial/promotional events (see sapo-insurance). Food giveaways need DOHMH; food vendors need DCWP permit. Fee tiers read from CECM street-events page; 14-45 day range from CECM FAQ.

Plaza Event Permit (pedestrian plazas)

right of-wayUnverified: confirm with agency
SAPO / CECM
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Not confirmed on fetched pages (Fees page not fetched). Street Event Extra Large tier is $66,000 and references plaza levels.

FAQ: "Plaza Events: 14 to 60 days before, depending on plaza level and event size".

Apply through SAPO online portal; plaza partner and community board are notified and can deny (5 business days to file comments).

Promotional or commercial activity on a pedestrian plaza requires a Plaza Event permit. Plaza fee amounts not confirmed.

Product sampling on streets and sidewalks (when no permit is needed)

right of-wayVerified Oct 16, 2026
SAPO / CECM
Lead time:
No permit needed only if items stay on your person and nothing is placed on street or sidewalk.
Fee:
No fee if no permit needed; otherwise Street Event permit fees apply.

Hand-to-hand sampling by walking street team with items carried on person needs no SAPO permit. Any table, banner, cooler or promotional materials set down requires a Street Event permit.

Sampling from the back of a parked vehicle is PROHIBITED. Food given to the public still triggers DOHMH rules. Core Clearpop decision rule for NYC street teams.

Street Festival / Single Block Festival (annual calendar)

right of-wayVerified Oct 16, 2026
SAPO / CECM
Lead time:
Applications due December 31 of the year before the event. Street festivals must occur on same days/locations as previous year (per search snippets).
Fee:
$25 non-refundable processing fee; permit fees not confirmed

Vendors/booths at a festival usually buy space from the festival organizer rather than applying themselves.

Brand booth at an existing festival: organizer holds the permit; Clearpop should collect organizer permit copy/insurance requirements. Same-year new festivals generally not possible.

Mobile billboards / advertising vehicles on streets

right of-wayUnverified: confirm with agency
NYC DOT / NYPD (Traffic Rules 34 RCNY 4-12(j))
Lead time:
No permit pathway identified
Fee:
Civil penalty not less than $500 for vehicle ad violations (per search snippet of Intro 75)

Do not park or operate vehicles on street for the purpose of commercial advertising; use private property or SAPO Street Event permit (vehicle displays) instead.

UNVERIFIED: only secondary sources (intro.nyc, case law). Moving billboards considered illegal under 34 RCNY 4-12(j); Intro 541 (2024) status unknown. Branded delivery/business vehicles in normal use are treated differently. CECM Small Street Event tier lists "vehicle displays". Get legal review before offering vehicle-wrap parking.

insurance

SAPO / City insurance requirement (commercial & promotional events)

insuranceVerified Oct 16, 2026
SAPO / CECM
Lead time:
Certificate needed with application; SAPO may request site plans, production schedules or insurance. Insurance waiver denials appealable within 5 business days.
Fee:
N/A (cost of policy)

Provide certificate of liability with City of New York as additional insured, min $1,000,000. Certificate holder per city FAQ search snippet: City of New York c/o SAPO, 253 Broadway.

FAQ text: "A certificate of liability with the City of New York listed as an additional insured" for a minimum of $1 million; required for all commercial/promotional events and Street Festivals; additional insurance may be required. Certificate-holder address 253 Broadway came from a search snippet, not fetched page text (unverified).

NYC Parks insurance / additional insured

insuranceUnverified: confirm with agency
NYC Department of Parks & Recreation
Lead time:
Certificate submitted with application
Fee:
N/A (cost of policy)

Per Queens Community Board 4 FAQ (secondary source): certificate of liability, $1,000,000, food & beverage rider if selling, $1,000,000 property damage; name City of New York and NYC Department of Parks & Recreation, The Arsenal, 830 5th Avenue, New York, NY 10021 as certificate holder and additional insured.

UNVERIFIED secondary source. Parks FAQ says borough office tells you if insurance/bond required.

sound

Sound Device Permit (amplified sound)

soundVerified Oct 16, 2026
NYPD (local precinct)
Lead time:
5 calendar days
Fee:
$45, payable by certified check or money order

Application must be filed "no less than five days before the event". Permits normally ready on the day of the event or as the precinct directs.

Obtain and file application at the precinct where the device will be used (form PD 656-041A).

Even background music counts as amplified sound per CECM FAQ. Precinct-level, so each stop/location needs its own filing. Pay by certified check/money order only.

health

Event organizer notice to Health Department (food at temporary events)

healthVerified Oct 16, 2026
NYC DOHMH, Bureau of Food Safety and Community Sanitation
Lead time:
30 calendar days
Fee:
No fee stated on this page

"Notify the Health Department 30 days before the event will begin" (call (212) 676-1600 or email infobfscs@health.nyc.gov).

Organizer notifies DOHMH and supplies vendor list with permit numbers; private-property events need signed contract with owner.

Must also provide trash containers, wastewater, portable toilets and handwashing sinks. Fines $200-$2,000 for violations. Penalties and sampling exemption not stated; packaged-only sampling treatment unconfirmed.

Temporary Food Service Establishment (TFSE) permit

healthVerified Oct 16, 2026
NYC DOHMH / DCWP Citywide Licensing Center
Lead time:
No processing time stated. Valid 1 year from end of month issued, not renewable; covers events of 14 days or less, up to 3 days/week at same place.
Fee:
$70 annual permit; $114 Food Protection Course (separate); 2% fee on card payments

Apply online or by appointment at Citywide Licensing Center; need photo ID, address proof, Food Protection Certificate supervisor on site.

Vendors may instead use an existing Food Service Establishment or Mobile Food Vending permit. Application must name the first event.

park

NYC Parks Special Event Permit

parkUnverified: confirm with agency
NYC Department of Parks & Recreation (borough permit offices / Citywide Special Events Office)
Lead time:
30 calendar days
Fee:
$25 non-refundable administrative processing fee for all special event permits; promotional/commercial events additionally subject to site/concession fee (amount not confirmed)

From search snippets of Parks FAQ: permits "require at least 30 days for processing"; applications inside "21 day threshold" not accepted. Not fetched (page blocked).

Apply via NYC Parks permit portal (nyceventpermits.nyc.gov/parks). Required for 20+ people; promotional/commercial or 500+ attendee events go to Citywide Special Events Office, (212) 360-1319.

UNVERIFIED: Parks pages returned 401/403. Do not promise a date. Parks says you may not advertise until approved. Bounce houses/rides need separate contract.

permit

Film / photography permit (when shooting content at activation)

permitVerified Oct 16, 2026
Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment (Film Office)
Lead time:
No general lead time stated on page. Up to 3 business days for fee waiver review.
Fee:
$500 per consecutive 14-day period (or portion), non-refundable

Apply to Film Office online. Permit needed for equipment beyond handheld/tripod, parking of production vehicles, exclusive use of City property, etc.

Only relevant if brand content crew goes beyond handheld/tripod. Insurance: CGL min $1,000,000 per occurrence, City of New York additional insured (secondary summary of MOME insurance page; unverified). Parks permission required before filming in parks.

NYPD parade / procession permit

permitVerified Oct 16, 2026
NYPD
Lead time:
Not stated
Fee:
Not stated

Via NYPD E-Apply or a precinct. Required for processions, parades, demonstrations, or athletic events.

Branded walking tours/processions may trigger this. SAPO permit needed if event begins, ends or passes through a pedestrian plaza; Parks permit if through a park.

fire

FDNY tent / membrane structure permit

fireUnverified: confirm with agency
FDNY Bureau of Fire Prevention
Lead time:
Not confirmed
Fee:
Not confirmed

Contact FDNY Bureau of Fire Prevention; SAPO Street Event permit also needed for tents on streets.

UNVERIFIED: no FDNY page reached; search returned only non-NYC thresholds. Do not state a size threshold.

By activation type in New York

Other cities

Denver · Las Vegas · Los Angeles · Austin · Chicago