Los Angeles event permits for brand activations
What typically applies to sampling, pop-ups, street teams, festival booths, tour stops and amplified sound in Los Angeles. City of Los Angeles.
Most recent source check: Oct 16, 2026. Each requirement below shows its own status and source link.
right of-way
Special Event permit (street closure / right-of-way use)
right of-wayUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- 45 calendar days
- Fee:
- Late fee $312 (2016 ordinance). Base permit fees not confirmed.
LAMC: applications filed "at least 45 days prior to the expected first day of the Special Event"; non-refundable late fee $312 for applications submitted 21 days or less before (Ord. 184020, 2016).
Apply via StreetsLA special events portal (specialevents.lacity.org); counter by appointment (213) 847-6000.
UNVERIFIED current: official StreetsLA/special events pages returned 403; figures from City Clerk ordinance text via search. Parades/assemblies (1st Amendment) go to LAPD instead. Sidewalk vending is barred near permitted special events.
Vehicle wrap parking / advertising vehicles on LA streets
right of-wayUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- Not researched
- Fee:
- Not confirmed
Use StreetsLA special event permit with reserved curbside parking, or private property.
UNVERIFIED: no official LA page located on parked advertising vehicles. 45-day special event rule covers curbside event parking requests. Flag for legal review.
permit
LAPD Special Event Permit (parades and assemblies)
permitUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- 40 calendar days
- Fee:
- Not confirmed
LAPD asks for submission at least 40 days before the event per LAMC 103.111; shorter windows make a permit less likely. Older City Attorney report: must act if received not less than 5 days prior.
Submit LAPD Special Event Permit Application to the Special Events Permit Unit.
UNVERIFIED: LAPD page returned 403; details from search snippet. Applies to parades/assemblies; other events go to StreetsLA.
Temporary Special Event (TSE) permit (tents, stages, structures)
permitVerified Oct 16, 2026- Lead time:
- Page states no filing deadline; other agency approvals must come before the LADBS application.
- Fee:
- $137.80 per event
Get LAFD and LAPD approvals, City Planning clearance if questionnaire requires, then submit TSE electronically at permitla.lacitydbs.org; pay fees before inspection.
Covers events up to 7 days with tents/canopies over 450 sq ft on residential property or over 12 ft in length or width on commercial property; stages over 30 inches; grandstands; structures over 12 ft. Public right-of-way events need Public Works Street Use permit.
Commercial still photography / filming permit (City of Los Angeles)
permitVerified Oct 16, 2026- Lead time:
- 3 business days
- Fee:
- Still photo application $104 (up to 15 cast/crew); rider $31; 16+ cast/crew charged Motion rate $931 plus $287 LAFD spot check surcharge; lane/street closure $312 per location plus $78 FilmLA admin
"at least three full business days before the first activity date" (not counting submission date); city parks minimum four business days; closures need more time. Late applications ineligible.
Apply through FilmLA online; pay by 6PM the business day before first activity.
Required for on-location filming of a commercial nature on public and private property. Parks: still $75/day (1-14 people), $150/day (15+).
sound
LAPD permit for dances, carnivals, live music or alcohol
soundUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- Not stated
- Fee:
- Not stated
LADBS says to contact LAFD and LAPD in person to obtain approvals before filing the TSE application.
LADBS page lists "A permit is required for dances, carnivals, live music, or alcohol use" from LAPD. No LA-specific amplified-sound/sound-truck permit page found. Treat amplified sound as needing LAPD review (unverified).
fire
LAFD tent / canopy permit
fireUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- Not stated on LAFD page.
- Fee:
- Not stated on LAFD page. Third-party copy of Division 5 form lists fee codes by tent size.
Apply through LAFD fire permit portal (fps.lafd.org) with tent layout, flame-resistant certification, anchoring, extinguishers, occupancy and exits.
LADBS page: LAFD approval required for tents of 450 sq ft or more. Open flame needs F-315 special permit (third-party form; unverified). Inspections before/during event possible.
health
LA County Public Health Community Event / temporary food facility permits
healthUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- 30 calendar days
- Fee:
- Base fees not retrieved; late fee greater of 25% of permit fee or $50
Organizer application required 30 days prior to the event; within 14 calendar days is late (extra fee = greater of 25% of permit fee or $50); not accepted within 2 business days.
Event organizer submits application to communityevents@ph.lacounty.gov; each food booth (temporary food facility) also needs a permit.
UNVERIFIED: county page redirect loop prevented fetching; all from search snippet. Pasadena, Long Beach, Vernon have own health departments (not City of LA). Packaged-only sampling treatment unconfirmed.
insurance
FilmLA insurance / additional insured
insuranceVerified Oct 16, 2026- Lead time:
- Insurance reviewed before permit release
- Fee:
- N/A (cost of policy)
Commercial General Liability min per occurrence: still photography $500,000; motion $1,000,000; DWP $2,000,000; Harbor $3,000,000; drones $2,000,000. Additional insureds: City of Los Angeles and FilmLA.
"Insurance requirements vary based on activity and location." Applies to FilmLA permits only.
park
LA Recreation and Parks event permit and insurance
parkUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- No LA lead time found
- Fee:
- Not confirmed
Contact permit coordinator for the park. Per insurance sheet: CGL $1M (ACORD 25, occurrence), City added as additional insured by endorsement, verified on KwikComply with Certificate Approval number.
UNVERIFIED: RAP insurance PDF returned 403; summary from search snippet. Commercial/promotional use in parks may be restricted.
vendor license
Sidewalk and Park Vending Permit (selling on sidewalks/parks)
vendor licenseUnverified: confirm with agency- Lead time:
- Not stated
- Fee:
- 2020 launch figure $541 (outdated; confirm)
Needs City business tax registration, CA seller's permit and, for food, LA County Public Health permit.
Applies if SELLING. Free giveaways not addressed. LAMC 56.08 bars obstructing sidewalk access; vending barred near permitted special events. UNVERIFIED, search snippets.