Clearpop
Chicago, Illinois

Chicago event permits for brand activations

What typically applies to sampling, pop-ups, street teams, festival booths, tour stops and amplified sound in Chicago. City of Chicago.

Most recent source check: Oct 16, 2026. Each requirement below shows its own status and source link.

Not legal advice. Confirm with the City of Chicago. Requirements, fees and lead times change and vary by location and by the exact activity. Always confirm with the issuing agency before you rely on anything here.
Get the checklist for your exact event. Tell us what, where and when and we filter this list and compute filing dates.
Check my event

other

DCASE: marketing activations NOT permitted on public way

otherVerified Oct 16, 2026
Dept of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE)
Lead time:
Not a timed permit; this is a prohibition.
Fee:
No permit available.

Move the activation to private land (with owner consent) or to a Chicago Park District property.

Official wording: "Marketing activations are NOT permitted on public rights of way... Sidewalks and streets are strictly prohibited for marketing activities." The DCASE application is only for festivals and athletic events. Biggest Chicago gating rule for Clearpop.

Commercial handbill distribution on public way

otherUnverified: confirm with agency
Chicago Municipal Code (Streets & Sanitation enforcement)
Lead time:
Not applicable.
Fee:
Fines reported $200-$1,000 per offense (secondary blog source).

Hand-to-hand only; do not place handbills on vehicles.

Unverified secondary sources (local blogs) on 10-8-310 / 10-8-330; no official page fetched. Treat as research lead only.

permit

DCASE Special Event Permit (festivals, street/art fairs, athletic events)

permitVerified Oct 16, 2026
Dept of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE)
Lead time:
21 calendar days
Fee:
Nonrefundable processing fee by completion date: $100 (180-60 days), $200 (59-45), $500 (44-37), $1,000 (36-29), $2,000 (28-21). Fee set by when ALL documents are submitted (since Sept 29, 2025).

Applications may be submitted up to 180 days prior and "will not be accepted if completed less than 21 days before the event."

Apply online through the DCASE portal; email SEPermits@CityofChicago.org.

Required for any outdoor event that closes streets (not allowed for private events), sells/serves food (open to public), sells/serves alcohol, sells merchandise, has tents over 20x20 ft, or stages over 2 ft. NOT required: outdoor private invite-only events, weddings, block parties (alderman), parades/rallies (CDOT). Fee_cents is the earliest tier.

Park District alcohol service / sampling fee

permitVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Park District
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Service only: $1,050 (up to 200) to $2,625 (3,001-10,000). Service/sales: $1,050 to $5,250.

Same permit timeline as special event permit.

Include alcohol on the Special Event Permit application.

Free alcohol sampling falls under "Alcohol Service Only". Alcohol must come from a licensed provider; security personnel required at all events with alcohol. Fee_cents is minimum tier.

Tent / stage building permit for temporary structures

permitVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Dept of Buildings
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Fee not published on fetched page.

Building permit application must be received at least 14 calendar days before the event start (Muni Code 14A-4-405.6).

Apply to DOB for tents over 20x20 ft or stages over 2 ft; also trigger DCASE permit.

Permit prep guide for events is linked from the DCASE page.

right of-way

Street closure application

right of-wayUnverified: confirm with agency
DCASE / CDOT
Lead time:
21 calendar days
Fee:
Fee not stated on fetched page; CDOT fee schedule (403 blocked) not read.

Follows DCASE deadline (21 days minimum); separate form not fetched.

Complete the Street Closure Application linked from the DCASE page.

Street closures are not allowed for private events. CDOT fee schedule 2026 was blocked from fetch.

Sidewalk sign permit

right of-wayVerified Oct 16, 2026
BACP Public Way Use
Lead time:
Not published.
Fee:
$100 per year; 5-year permit

Apply through Chicago Inspections, Permitting & Licensing portal.

Only storefront businesses outside the central business district with a valid Chicago business license; max 6 sq ft per face, 4 ft high; displayed only while open; commercial general liability proof required. Not usable by street teams.

BACP Public Way Use permit (structures on/over/under public way)

right of-wayVerified Oct 16, 2026
BACP Public Way Use
Lead time:
Not published.
Fee:
Billed annually; fee not stated on page.

Apply via the Inspections, Permitting & Licensing portal; publicwayuse@cityofchicago.org.

For property-associated items (signs, canopies, planters, kiosks, sidewalk cafes). Valid 5 years; general liability insurance must be re-submitted each year. NOT a path for temporary brand activations.

health

CDPH Food Sampling application (special events)

healthVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Dept of Public Health, Food Protection Services
Lead time:
Lead time not published on the CDPH page.
Fee:
Fee not published on the CDPH page.

Get the Special Event Food Sampling Application from DCASE Food Applications; submit with documentation to the event organizer/coordinator.

CDPH reviews food booths, mobile food and food sampling applications. Commissary/restaurant needs inspection within 6 months. Contact cdphfood@cityofchicago.org, 312-746-8030.

Summer Festival Food Vendor sanitation certificate / mobile food certificate

healthVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Dept of Public Health
Lead time:
Not published.
Fee:
Not published on this page.

Take sanitation class; attach certificate to application.

Food booths need an SFFV Sanitation Certificate; Mobile Food Vehicles need a Foodservice Sanitation certificate and City license before applying for a Special Event.

vendor license

Single-event food truck license

vendor licenseUnverified: confirm with agency
BACP / DCASE
Lead time:
21 calendar days
Fee:
$75 per vendor (search summary of DCASE form)

"must be submitted 21 calendar days prior to the event" (from search summary of the DCASE form; PDF blocked, not read).

Submit single-event food truck application to event organizer.

Fee and 21 days NOT confirmed on a fetched page (chicago.gov PDF returned 403).

Pop-Up license for shows and exhibitions

vendor licenseVerified Oct 16, 2026
Business Affairs and Consumer Protection (BACP)
Lead time:
Lead time not published on page.
Fee:
Per-user fee $25 for a show lasting 5 days or less (users without active pop-up license).

Organizer applies via Chicago Business Direct or in person with a vendor list.

Organizer must hold the license; vendors cannot get an individual show license. Food vendors selling only non-perishable prepackaged food may be listed; others need Pop-Up Food Establishment User Tier II license.

park

Chicago Park District Special Event Permit

parkVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Park District
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Application fee $45 plus rental. Level 1 (up to 200) $126-$210 by cluster; Level 2 (201-500) $620-$1,019; Level 3 (501-1,000) $2,058-$3,465; Level 4 $4,106-$6,899; Level 5 $7,455-$12,443. Late fees $150 (Events 1-2), $250 (3-4), $740 (5-6).

Documents and balance payment "14 Days Prior to Reservation"; "The application review process takes a minimum of 14 days."

Apply via the Park District Special Event Permit application; permit required for outdoor events with 50+ people.

Fee_cents is the $45 application fee only. Fewer than 50 people: contact the park. Security deposit refund within 30 business days.

Park District product/service sampling promotions

parkUnverified: confirm with agency
Chicago Park District, New Business Development
Lead time:
Not published.
Fee:
Rates by phone: New Business Development (312) 742-4744.

Call New Business Development for rates.

Sampling promotions are not priced on the permit page.

sound

Park District amplified sound

soundVerified Oct 16, 2026
Chicago Park District
Lead time:
14 calendar days
Fee:
Included in Special Event Permit; no separate fee published.

Covered by Special Event Permit timeline.

List amplified sound (loudspeakers, amplifiers, powered megaphones) on the permit.

"Amplified sound (e.g. loudspeakers, amplifiers, powered megaphones)" requires a Special Event Permit.

insurance

Chicago Park District insurance (COI) requirements

insuranceUnverified: confirm with agency
Chicago Park District, Risk Management
Lead time:
2 calendar days
Fee:
No fee.

Reported by search result: permit not issued unless certificate and endorsement approved 48 hours before event.

Obtain general liability and submit certificate plus carrier endorsement.

Official page: "Event organizers are required to obtain general liability insurance"; limits and AI wording NOT listed. Search result (unconfirmed): $1,000,000 with Park District as additional insured, primary/non-contributory; an older Park District exhibit lists $1M/occurrence, $2M aggregate, 60-day cancellation notice, waiver of subrogation. Confirm with Park District.

By activation type in Chicago

Other cities

Denver · Las Vegas · Los Angeles · New York · Austin